headline photo
Showing posts with label Facebook Profile. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Facebook Profile. Show all posts

View private Facebook profile

Why would you want to view someone's private Facebook profile? I'm not going to argue the "ethics" of this... I'm going to answer the question straight, and let everyone else argue whether it's right or wrong. I am not even going to refer to some hacks and cracks that doesn't work instead lets use some psychological principles.

OPTION 1 (Limited access to Private Facebook Profile)
Whenever you click on a person’s name there will be three options available: Add as Friend, Send a Message, and View Friends.

  1. Click on Send a Message to message to the person whose profile you are interested in..
  2. Send them a message saying “Hey, this is .... and I met you ...(somewhere the person might visit often, like college classes)...”
  3. They might send you back a message either positive or negative.
  4. No matter what they say you will now have access to their limited profile as soon as the message is sent without adding them as a friend.


OPTION 2 (Full access to Private Facebook Profile)
This alternative takes longer but this will get you into somebody’s full Facebook profile. The concept is basically to set up a profile in which the person thinks you are actually someone that they already know.

  1. View your victims friends list. Find one of their friends that does not have a Facebook default profile picture. This will most likely be a person that does not use Facebook very often.
  2. Create a new Facebook account with the exact same name or something similar that will confuse the user as the profile that does not have a default profile picture.
  3. Once you have created that new account, go and add about 20 of his/her friends. Since they will most likely be mutual friends with both of you, they will most likely add you.
  4. Now that you have an account of his/her known friend and about 20 mutual friends. Send a friend request or a message and tell him or her that this is your new facebook account. There will be no reason for him/her to not believe you and he/she will add you.
  5. Now, you have complete access to their profile on Facebook.

Facebook's Smart Lists : Status updates visible only to your Close friends!

This week Facebook brought new feature designed to make it easier to share posts with small groups of people by separating your best friends from your so called friends. Creating custom lists of Facebook friends was available since a long time, but now Facebook will automatically create a few lists based on your profile information. You can edit these lists and create new ones yourself. Facebook calls it a Smart List.


To see if you’ve got the smart lists yet, look on the left side of your Facebook profile page. You should see a section titled Lists:

When you look at a friend’s profile, there’ll be a button at the upper right that pops up a menu to add them to one of two new standardized lists — Close Friends and Acquaintances.

You can also use this feature while you post status updates by selecting close friends, which enable only your close friends to see the status update that you don't want your so-so friends to see.


The core idea behind Facebook’s enhanced lists is that you can share a status update with only a list of friends, rather than with all of your Facebook friends. Avoiding status updates that you don't care about. 


Simplified Search in Facebook as of Google

Search symbols that you use in Google for simplified search can be used in Facebook as well. If you are not familiar with google search symbols refer to Google search basics. A typical way to search only specific results is to use symbols like ":". If you type university:TX, google shows the result for universities in texas.

In Facebook if you type "name:sam status:married" , facebook will search for "sam" whose status is married. Similarly for pages it could be "page:abcde". If you use pipe "|", sam smith | marry jane, the search result includes both sam smith and marry jane on the search result in the same page.

Head over to the FB Help section to learn more.

You can now Tag people in Facebook Status and other posts

One of the most popular features on facebook is tagging. Tagging allows you to more actively mention your friends and other things you are connected to on Facebook. Everyone must be familiar with photo tagging. You can also tag people in status updates and other posts, the same way you reference people on photos.

If you want your status to be: I went to a party tonight with "someone". You can now reference that person by tagging his name on the status.

Friends you tag will receive a notification and Wall story that you have tagged them, and also when someone else comments on a post they are tagged in.

You can tag your confirmed friends, pages you are fan of, events you are attending and your groups. When you tag an application that you have used, the link in your post will lead to the application’s Page. Similarly, when you tag a friend the link will lead to the freind's profile.

Only your confirmed friends can tag you in their posts. If you have blocked someone or removed them as a friend, they will not be able to tag you. If you have blocked someone, and then a mutual friend tags you in their post, the person you blocked will not be able to view your profile by clicking on your name.

How to tag friends in facebook status and posts?

when you are writing a status update just include the "@" symbol and start typing name of your friend you want to tag.

As you type the name of what you would like to reference, a drop-down menu will appear that allows you to choose from your list of friends and other connections.

The "@" symbol will not be displayed in the published status update or post after you've added your tags. Instead a direct link to your friends profile will be displayed.

They also will have the option to remove tags of themselves from your posts as in photos.

There is one downside of this option, you can't tag your friends on comment box. Facebook might enable this feature in future.

Username on your Facebook URL

Wouldn't it be cool to get to your profile page when you type www.facebook.com/YOURNAME

Facebook launched this feature Starting at 12:01 a.m. EDT on Saturday, June 13. If you haven't personalized your name yet, well your exact name may not be available so hurry!!


Facebook lets you have only one username for your personal profile. Once you have claimed a username by clicking the "Confirm" button after checking for a username's availability, it is not possible to transfer your username to a different account on Facebook. Even when an account is removed from the site, its username is not available. Facebook does this for security reasons. You should make sure it is something you like and that it’s appropriate for friends, family, co-workers, and anyone else who might use it to find you.

Keep in mind you will only be able to change your username once, even if you misspelled your username.

HOW TO CHANGE YOUR USERNAME ON URL?
You can change your username from the Settings tab of the Account Settings page. Scroll down to "Username" and click "change." Then follow the on-screen directions.